Mr. Christian T. Grey: The Bad That Became Good

Huh? What’s with the title, you say?

Anyone who had the privilege to read (and finish) E L James’ trilogy can probably relate to this.

fifty shades of grey trilogy book covers

Just a little backstory . . .

This book-a-holic went into a reading dry spell for months, unable to find that elusive tome that will bring out the inspiration needed by most writers to get the creative juices going. And just like most writers, I have a TBR list. I was able to get my own e-book copies of the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy for months before I actually read it and finished them. I blame my laziness in reading via computer. It hurts the eyes when you stare at the monitor for a long time. This is a fact that I share to most people I get to talk to.

One day, a friend of mine sent me a message asking if I read the books. I told her that I started with the first but I am not even halfway finished. I neglect to tell her that I was lazy. Then, another one sent me a text message asking what I think about the books. It uncannily happened within 24 hours. And I told myself, “Damn! People I know who haven’t finished a book in a flash did with the trilogy. I can’t be left behind, getting smothered by the dusts on their trail. So, the vain in me labored into the night, scratching my tired eyes just to finish the first installment. I didn’t curse one bit, because I fell in love.

It happens a lot to me. When I encounter a character that I can imagine very vividly inside my head, I fall head over heels. It doesn’t matter what gender that character has. The only thing that matters is their ability to keep me awake for hours, forgetting the loo and my comfy bed just to get more.

Mr. Christian Grey . . . the enigmatic protagonist in E L James’ debut erotic romance series captivated me.

“He’s a bad boy with tons of issues, who became my reading dry spell salvation.”

He reawakened my passion to put more words into my own writing. He’s my muse and he will remain so until the next good thing comes along. I doubt that will happen any time soon though.

 

Leave a Comment

