Life Like A Bento Box

I love how Japanese people pack their lunches. It is so creative, neat and balanced.

“If only life could be like a bento box, it would be easier to navigate it, compartmentalize and have everything in just one nifty package.”

Now, you may ask what is this woman rambling on about?

I just had a thought that the more you age, the more you suffer from all the extras life hands out.

Then, I had a momentary flashback of my “Japanese Fascination” phase.  Everything I crave was related to Japanese during that time. There’s the ramen (of course), anime, J-Pop, J-Dorama, Doraemon, sentai and even hentai. I gobble it up like a starving man after a whole day of fasting during Lenten season.

My hairstyle was even anime inspired! I had it bleached platinum blonde and razor-cut it to look like Son Goku’s super saiyan persona when styled with enough non-glossy hair wax. I also bought  a whole new wardrobe to complement my look, adopting the Tokyo Avant-Garde fashion commonly seen in Harajuku, Daikanyama or Shibuya but not where I lived.

Oh boy! I was really living it back then. I look cool and feel cool!

The only thing missing was the scenery and the weather.

Right now, the only thing I get out of that phase – apart from my cravings for sushi, ramen and katsu – was how they [Japanese] were so meticulous in prepping their food and took pride in their individualism.

And I get to think, if life can be compared to food, I choose mine to be like a Japanese bento box. If only that’s possible, I wouldn’t currently suffer from the extras: weight, expenses, medical bills and gym membership fee.

Why? Because everything will be in its right place.

I know . . . I know . . . it may seem boring, predictable and regulated. There’s no room for spontaneity. There would be absolute control and a sense of empowerment.

But who said bento boxes can be drab and mundane all the time? There’s no rule prohibiting one to fashion their life without colors and textures whilst still within the compartments, right?

Leave a Comment

