The Shush Effect

Ever been in a situation where you are stuck in a three-hour bus trip with four or five loud women (possibly in their twenties or early thirties), giggling like freakin’ schoolgirls while they talk (or brag) about nonsensical stuff like how many men they met on the beach and asked for their digits?

I have a distinct feeling that they’re still high on whatever accompanied their tequila bodyshots that made them sell glimpses of their bosoms and booties to those men who asked for their digits. Anyway, I digress.

Is it a sign of aging when I say that I was annoyed enough to give them several stink-eyes and dealt them with my face-melting “Shush!” after the number of failed attempt of sending sinister looks their way?

Yes . . . I am that grumpy extra passenger in the middle of the bus with my earbuds on to dilute the silly chitchat happening around me and lose myself to the soothing rockin’ beats of The Chemical Brothers and Nine Inch Nails.

Some superpower is at play. It seems that the inconsiderate citizens of the universe have somehow unlocked the secret of penetrating the formerly trusted brand of earbuds I had on and had their supersonic whiny voices perforate the plastic and metal thingies with their dissonant vein-busting chatter.

My companion was oblivious to the world, knocked out and gently snoring beside me . . . an ability I wished I had or trained for. Alas! I was stuck there, silently grumbling. All I wanted was some quiet, restful trip to rejuvenate the two operating brain cells I have.

I have trussed up those women and put gag balls on them inside my head several times over, praying for divine intervention that will make them shut up.

Unfortunately, the heavens didn’t deem me worthy enough to heed my call. So, I took matters in my own hands. With a conspiratorial look with two other passengers who are clearly as irritated as I was, our joint forces in our harmonized “Shush!” did its job.

The disrespectful women finally remembered their manners and resume their chattering in a volume down version, which is fine by me. R-E-S-P-E-C-T people. Do it as Aretha advises.

It felt good. The remaining two hours of my travel time was as relaxing as I hope it’ll be.

Leave a Comment

