Today: International Toot Your Flute Day!

All ye green-minded citizens of the universe! I know what you are thinking and that’s not what today means. Lol!

Taking it literally . . .

I’ve tried my hand in learning how to play the flute when I was young.

“Damn you, Pied Piper!” (He made it look so easy. But it wasn’t! No wonder it’s a fairy tale.)

In short, it never did catch on. I sounded like a broken weed that had been trampled, beaten down by monsoon and forgotten next to a riverbank. Besides, my cheeks and lips ached every time I attempted to practice, not to include the torture my siblings and folks might have suffered because of it.

“If you know that you suck big time at doing something with no way of improving, it’s wise to stop and move on before you totally lose whatever respect others have for you.”

So I ended my ambitions in becoming the next Sir James Galway with no remorse. My relationship with my bamboo flute lasted for only 4 days – the shortest relationship I had in my life.

Abstractly speaking . . .

This day is all about giving each and everyone their bragging rights to put  themselves out there and let people know of their numerous (or not) accomplishments and fabulousness.

Let me see. Which ones should I brag about today?

. . . . . . . . . . . mmmmmmmmmmmm . . . . . . . . . . . mmmmmmmmmmmm . . . . . . . . . . . mmmmmmmmmmmm . . . . . . . . . . .

This is much work than I thought! My remaining 2 functional brain cells are almost flat-lining.

I guess, this day will all depend on a person’s personality. I’m not much into tooting my flute”, I guess. I’m a little uncomfortable talking about my accomplishments to people who will give me a sec of their precious time in a critical working day like Thursday.

SEGUE: I don’t consider Friday as the last “real” work day of the week. That’s why it’s called Casual Friday. People’s minds are already focused on their weekends and brains are already like a clear soup or broth.

Going back . . .

I think I’ll just let other people do the tooting. It will prove quite entertaining watching them make a fool of themselves while I silently snicker and imagine them in cute jester outfits in my head.

As for me, I’ll let the proof of my accomplishments speak for itself. No need for tooting.

Leave a Comment

