The Dying Game

We are all players in this game called life.

Life is a game that has so many rules to follow but only one that really speaks for what living is all about – the golden rule.

I have always believed the power to move people behind the words; Do unto others what you want others do unto you.These simple words can make wonders if only people will follow it. This saying may have been found as the basis of the concept of the karmic cycle, but either way, living life should be correspondent to the ultimate impression you want to leave behind.

My goal is to have at least one person to shed genuine tears of loss when I pass away.

There are two deaths in my family recently. My father died on October 7 of heart failure and a granduncle on October 10 of multiple injuries sustained from a circumstantial event. The recent losses took a sorrowful toll on the lives and loves that both men have left behind. I immediately imagined them reunited in the afterlife together with the others who had died before, attending a banquet with an impressive spread of food that they cannot indulge while they were still alive. I imagined them drinking the finest bourbon and reminiscing the memories they had of a life that passed by. I imagined them at peace.

This made me think.

If the endgame of each and every one of us is death, we should learn how to appreciate it just like when we appreciated life.

In order to be accepting of  life, one must be accepting of its polar opposite. Morbid as it is, discussing the merits and necessity of death has always been a fascination. But that fascination was somehow overshadowed by the raw emotions that raked a jagged path in my heart the moment I heard the news of my father’s death from my sister. The intensity of the emotions took me to higher levels of mental instability and the outpouring was cathartic at that time, but the shadow lingers still. Only time will banish that shadow.

The moment we were born, we begin to die.

The game of death has proven to be one tough competition to be a part of. It is something everyone participates in and only a fool will tell that death is inconsequential. Dying is everyone’s endgame. The only variable that constantly changes in the life/death equation is time. So, my father might have gone to the afterlife ahead of schedule, but I know that in time, I will get to see him and spend time with him once again.

Leave a Comment

