Living In The TMI World

With the onslaught of social media taking over most people’s lives, I wonder.

“Are we consciously aware that we are now living in a world full of TMIs?”

For the lay person, TMI stands for Too Much Information. I know . . . I know . . . there are plenty of acronyms and Internet jargon to keep track of. I admit that I turn clueless when someone utters a new acronym and I felt like I’ve been living under a rock because of it. I mean, they’re all over, flying around since the dawn of SMS that we need to cut down our long-winded words to fit the allowed number of characters for each send.

SEGUE: This resulted to children barely able to spell simple words correctly. I lament with their teachers, of course. As an educator myself, I shake my head every time a twelve-year-old kid would misspell a word that I have learned to spell when I was only seven. What happened to quality education? Has standards dropped since I last attended school (and it wasn’t that too long ago!)?

I read Facebook posts and tweets about mundane things like “eating breakfast of granola and OJ”. Okay, so what? Almost everyone eats breakfast. What’s so special about this person that he/she needs to let people know what he/she eats in the morning? There were even posts about digestive problems and such that makes me feel icky.

But we’ve learned to tolerate and the fools thought that what they’re doing is okay because no one tells them to stop [shaking head with pulsing vein on forehead].

I am a great advocate of transparency and honesty, but there should be limitations on which aspects of your life you share to the world.

One must remember that most of those “Friends” or “Followers” on social media accounts are not that even close to you. Some of those people were just added up to the list to plump up the popularity factor and for bragging reasons: “Oh, I have 1,200 + friends on Facebook” or “I’ve got 2,798 followers in Twitter because I’m great.” It seems superficial now, but we’ve gone through it and most us are still doing it, adding people to up our X-Factor.

The messages shared/posted can make or break a person’s reputation. The serial tweet-master can become annoying, tweeting random stuff that don’t make sense, like inside jokes, unless you’re in their immediate circle of friends. Others can be crucified in the net universe by posting a couple of words that might not be acceptable to most and misunderstandings or word wars will ensue.

Because of the freedom social media has presented to the world, no one can fully keep secrets anymore. Everyone seemed to be bare-naked in the net universe. You cannot hide. Your business is everyone else’s as well. So the only protection people can have is to think twice or even thrice before sharing your personal business on the web to avoid getting victimized and irritate the rest of us who do not care what you did before leaving the toilet.

Leave a Comment

