Cussing Age

I was alarmed when I heard a kid, who is probably three and a half feet tall, cussing like there’s no tomorrow in the middle of a busy street today. No one even bothered to tell that kid to stop and there are some who were even grinning and snickering while watching the spectacle. I felt like the people thought the kid’s actions are so ordinary that it never warranted any reprimand from the companion or the ones witnessing it

Then it got me thinking. If this kid grew up during my time, his mouth would have been sore and hot with all the hot peppers the elders would have fed him to stop that potty mouth.

Gosh! The way kids use curse words nowadays makes me believe that the standards in good manners and right conduct is NOT just low . . . it’s diminishing. Soon, toddlers will shout “motherf**cker” at the top of their lungs and it will be alright, like it’s nothing out of the ordinary.

I am not a prude or, Lord forbid, conservative. Jeez! I’m far from being a saint. I cuss . . . almost all the time. And when I’m really in a pissed-off mood, I can make a grown man blush with my gutter-mouth vocab. But I make sure that kids are not nearby to imitate me. [See? I’m a responsible citizen of the universe.] Lord knows those little runts can copy almost every word out of a person’s mouth.

At my age, I still get snarky looks from grown-up people whenever I cuss, making me feel like a recalcitrant school girl caught hiding a classmate’s gym shoes at the back of the janitorial closet.

So, the burning question is . . .

What is the right age to cuss?

I believe the older you get, the more people can tolerate it.  But if you’re pint-size and can’t even reach the bathroom shower knob, I don’t think it’s appropriate. There’s definitely something wrong if older people let it be. It’s totally wrong.

Parents should be aware that children often mimic and memorize things they hear around them and they need to be careful of what they say or do. They also need to set the bar higher regarding good manners because I cringe while imagining what the world would be without it.

Total frickin’ chaos, that’s what.

Leave a Comment

