My Annual Valentine’s Day Horror Film Marathon

It has become my self-imposed tradition to pick three to five horror movies to watch on Valentine’s Day whether I have someone special at the time or none. Most of often, I do not. So, it’s a way for me to renege on the whole Valentine’s Day for couples and lovey-dovey whatnots. I know it’s weird . . . but hey, I don’t think I’m alone in this. There must be a dozen or so like me out there and I have to say it now:

It’s okay. You’re not alone.

This year, I’m focusing on zombie comedy-horror films. I know there’s not much titles on this genre and it’s okay since I only have a couple of hours to spare in indulging on this 10-year-old tradition. The whole idea came to me after checking the US blockbuster list last week and some write-ups regarding movies currently screening on theaters worldwide. With most movie producers almost at full throttle in preparation for the coming summer, I am expecting a lot of great action and star-studded films hitting the big screen soon.

 

The_Host_Poster

There are a lot to watch out for including a Stephenie Meyer personal favorite The Host getting the widescreen treatment. Considering that we have established that yours truly is a sci-fi nerd, I have embraced this novel more than the overrated Twilight series. I am truly sorry, twi-fans, but I don’t float your boat. I am more attracted to heroines with guts and can pack a mean punch. Besides, Saoirse Ronan is playing the lead character in the film , making me anticipate it more. I luurrrvvv her. She’s absolutely amazing in Hanna, holding her own against veteran thespians like Cate Blanchett and Eric Bana. The trailer is awesome, too!

Oh . . . how I digress. Anyway, onward to my movie marathon list.

 

 

 

 

 

warm-bodies-07

 

 

 

 

First up is the new zombie-romantic film Warm Bodies. I heard good things about this one and after seeing the trailer, I guess it lived up to the anticipation. It’s different than most romantic comedies. On top of that, it has John Malkovich in it!

 

 

 

 

 

shaun-of-the-dead-poster

 

 

 

Second is Shaun of the Dead. Oh, my! The first time I saw this, I can’t help but laugh all throughout. Yes, it’s another zombie-themed movie, but the humor is so nicely timed that it’s not annoying. I recommended this flick to friends when they asked me what’s good to watch and I get a lot of compliments afterwards.

 

 

 

 

 

zombieland-poster-535x794

 

 

 

Last on the list is Zombieland. Emma Stone is a darling. Teamed up with Woody Harrelson’s unconventional comedic acting, it’s a crazy road trip amidst a zombie apocalypse backdrop. I already saw it twice, but I’m going to watch it again for the laughs and action.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, there. All three movies will suffice. I needed a lot of reasons to laugh and unwind and I guess there are folks out there who wanted the same thing. Because you have to . . .

Laugh ten times more than you frown to really know you’ve lived life.

 

2 thoughts on “My Annual Valentine’s Day Horror Film Marathon”

Leave a Comment

