Nine Months Later and Beyond

Valentine’s Day is over, both pre and post celebrations. Finally! 

However, the trickling effects of all that lovey-dovey holiday is still in effect. I bet in nine months, there will be plenty of squalling babies delivered in tons of hospitals and medical centers all over the globe. Fortunately, I won’t be amongst the screaming ladies in ORs, shouting for all they’re worth and cursing the men who’ve donated their genes.

Am I really lucky? Did I just dodge a bullet by not getting and won’t be getting impregnated this year?

snake

I recently read an article about superstition regarding the Chinese zodiac. For the cultural and supernatural know-it-alls, 2013 is the Chinese Year of the Water Snake and based on Feng Shui, it won’t be an auspicious year to deliver bouncing baby boys and girls that will carry on being born in the year of snake until they die. Because of this, the whole multiplying thing is discouraged in Chinese communities.

 

Poor snake! 

Apart from lamenting the snake’s rejection, this topic also got me thinking. 

Why do people put stock in luck so much that they’re willing to put their basic programming to procreate into a standby?

Yes, I’d feel bad to put a “snake” stigma to the innocent babes, but do people really have to be so scared? There are talismans and charms to repel the bad vibes. But the fact remains that being born in the year of the snake is enough contraceptive to keep the population growth at bay this year. 

I am no fan of the slimy reptiles. I actually don’t like cold-blooded animals in general. I get goosebumps whenever I see one in person or watch them slither and strike on the telly. Just imagining them makes it a great ingredient to all-out, smack-down 3D nightmare [think anacondas]. But there’s beauty in snakes that I truly appreciate. Without them, there won’t be fabulous snake-skin purses, belts and shows or snake fang pendants. Without them, there will be ecological imbalance. There won’t be snake soup, too! 

In mythology, the snake is a symbol of power, fertility, immortality and wisdom. Some prolific deities even appear as snakes like Nuwa, the woman-headed snake who created humans one by one from clay in the Chinese creation myth and Eobshin, the Korean snake goddess.

Then – because my mind is ever wandering – I asked myself: Why is it that modern folks equate the snake to ill omens and such when ancient peeps were even documented glorifying the poor, slithering creatures? To add to that, Christians believe the snake is a manifestation of evil. If it is truly evil, why did God create it? Wasn’t it said that God created all things good? 

So why are we so scared of the water snake? 

My former superstitious self is rearing its ugly head after reading testimonies after testimonies regarding the disastrous events that happened in previous years where the snake reigned and possible bad happenings this year. Only those born in the year of the monkey are safe, according to geomancers.

The historical recounting is also enough to make me rethink my position as a passive observer on the whole mystical/feng shui stuff, asking myself: 

Should I be concerned?

Should I become cautious and vigilant in reading the signs?

Should I don my armor and expect something bad will happen?

The facts may be circumstantial, but it really does make me want to be on-guard. I guess it’s the Chinese part in me speaking. But as long as it’s not taking over my life or no harm is being brought to others and myself, it is alright to be cautious and tread carefully in the Year of the Snake. Right?

Leave a Comment

