Another Man’s Treasure

I’m not talking about horders. I’ve seen a couple of those biohazardous folks on the telly recently that makes me cringe and pity them at the same time. Somehow I accept the fact that they cannot help themselves and they need psychological – if not medical – help. 

Till_Death_Do_Us_Part_by_KinkyAzianKitty

Nope, I am not talking about them. I’m talking about something along the lines of “Till death do us part.”

I’ve been known to BS a lot on lovey-dovey stuff for eons now. Friends and acquaintances know about my predilection and notoriety regarding this matter. Quite frankly, I don’t think I’ll be able to stop. As long as cheesy people exist, so as my quirked brow, smirk and razor-sharp tongue. 

So, what am I rambling about?

I just remembered stumbling upon a story eons ago of how a twice rejected woman at the altar can finally find happiness with someone who eventually treated her like a treasure instead of trash like her former beaus (Mr. A and Mr. B). Good riddance, if I might say so. Of course, there might be some hidden story behind the story that wouldn’t make it in the newsfeed, but the fact that it happened was something inspiring and makes thirty-something and forty-something singletons all over the world rejoice.

This woman is by no means a maiden of determinable age. After being jilted by a-hole number two, she gave up hope trying to walk down the ever-evasive aisle and get leg-shackled to someone of the opposite sex. She went on, loving the single life despite going through some tough times like getting bombarded by hounding relatives and uncountable pitiful looks sent her way by busybody neighbors. I applaud the strength and the resiliency of this woman. I am also thinking we’re rocking the same boat.

Anyway, when all hope of finding the right companion is slowly fading away (she’s 46), came the lovely Mr. C.  Now, Mr. C is also a long-time bachelor, loaded and good-looking to boot (think Christian Grey at age 50 without the kinky stuff – maybe). He could have a younger woman to settle with, but he said, one conversation sealed the deal. He said, it wasn’t how good-looking or young the woman was. It’s more like a mind connection. They were even able to conceive a child! What a nice ending for a true love story.

I know . . . I know . . . it’s like a perfect romantic story worthy of a Nicholas Sparks treatment or a hallmark Valentine’s Day card for old-timers. I’m a sucker for romance and I can’t stop oohing and aahing over it.

hell_hath_no_fury_like_a_woman_scorned

Well, the courtship lasted almost two years because the woman was highly skeptical and doesn’t want to get hurt again. Who wouldn’t be wary? If it happened to me, I would too and would even whip up some voodoo dolls and stick pins on it! It was a gamble she took and eventually paid off. Finally, the twice-scorned woman scored high with a guy who can’t get enough  of her.

I always envision myself with someone who’ll have me as a first choice, someone who’s dependable and will respect my individuality. But the fact remains that in the culture where I hailed from, local men are more into a traditional, conservative type with subservient tendencies. Who would want an alpha female like me? However, just like everybody else, yours truly is multi-faceted. There are layers to be discovered and might be worth the effort in trying to peel each and every layer in the end.

Leave a Comment

