MY PLAYLIST: Top 10 Tracks for March 2013

I am one of those people who often modify my listening playlist. With numerous of genres to tap into and thousands of songs in my hard drive, I can’t help being changeable. Listening to songs over and over again can sometimes give me a migraine even if it’s my favorite song. It must because of sonic waves or something. Therefore, I create monthly playlists.

Note: Do not be confused with the All-Time Favorites list. This is a monthly thing.

Just like in radio station countdowns on most requested songs, my eardrum’s most requested songs can be very varied. Sometimes, all-time favorites stay and get different ratings among the 100 songs (at least) on my playlist and might not make it to the top ten. Some gets resuscitated from their long slumber and re-enter my world because I miss them. There are some I just discovered and trying to drown in it until I’ll eventually put them to in suspended animation. And then, there are those that just kinda make my heart soar.

So, what are the top ten tracks on my playlist this month? Here they are: (Please click on the song to watch the video.)

1. Passion Pit – Constant Conversation

I discovered this track a few weeks ago when I was searching for more Passion Pit fix. The cool, almost seduction undertones really get me in the mood to just chill and relax. It’s a nice accompaniment to a balmy evening while thinking of what good things I did that day.

2. Ra Ra Riot – Beta Love 

Ra Ra Riot is one of those bands that has a distinct sound. Even without knowing who the artist is, just one note is a dead giveaway. I fell in love with them with “Boy” and my loyalty is solidified with this pop-ish, upbeat track that is quite reminiscent of some of my favourite New Wave bands.

3. Walk The Moon – Anna Sun 

This track made me want to daydream about someone to snuggle with – a hopeless daydream considering I’ve been single for years.

4. DJ Tiesto featuring Dizzee Rascal – Bad Behavior 

I actually stumbled upon this about a year ago and it’s a song I personally – and silently – dedicate to Tom Hiddleston. I have a massive crush on him and for some reason, hearing this makes me think of him and all the bad behavior I want to mentally do to him. Psycho much? Nah.

5. Tegan and Sara – Closer 

I’m fixated with this twin duo, maybe because they’re ubercool. Closer is the first track I fell in love with and the feeling is getting stronger.

6. 5.6.7.8’s – The Barracuda 

Okay, I’m a complete 90s lover because I grew up in that decade. It featured a lot of unique and extremely lovable characters as well as music. 5.6.7.8’s sound blended well with the avant garde Japanese style and I had so much fun watching them. I was also not surprised that they were included in the Tokyo Drift soundtrack.

7. The Joy Formidable – Whirring 

A very definitive band that made me a fan with Cradle, the first single I heard from them. But then, my adoration upped a level when I heard Whirring and Austere. With a new album out, I just know The Joy Formidable will go places.

8. Biffy Clyro – Black Chandelier

I have this predilection to like a song not just because of its beat or melody. Biffy offers heart-warming lyrics cased in a solid melody that is without a doubt their signature sound. Black Chandelier is one of those songs that I probably might include in my list of all-time favorites after I deafened myself listening to it perhaps a thousand times.

9. Architecture In Helsinki – Escapee

I know by now that you noticed my preference with upbeat indie sounds. It’s a way for me to keep my adrenaline up because those who personally know me will agree that I can get bored so easily. Escapee is like a shot of steroids for me . . . keeps my blood pumping.

10. Robot Koch – Overnight featuring Jahcoozi (King Cannibal Remix)

Seductive sounds are also one of my preferences. I use it to seduce my imagination from coming out of hibernation whenever I feel like writing. Robot Koch has several tracks that I love to use from time to time and Overnight is one of those I overuse lately.

So there you go. As you can see, they’re not the typical top of the pops list. Regardless of when it was released or the popularity in the Billboard Charts, my playlist is much diversified. They’re my own “likes” that I just want to share. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

