All-Time Favorite Music Part 2

This is part 2 of the all-time favorites list.  Honestly, while I was listing down all the songs or music that made my heart go boom . . . boom . . . boom . . ., I can’t help but realize that it’s just too many!

This segment might become never-ending!

Anyway, it will definitely provide enough to write about, right? So, here’s the second installment of the list.  (Click on the song title to listen or view the video)

Note: To see the first part, click HERE

 

21. 99 Luftballons – Nena

The original German version, of course. Even if I don’t understand German, I rock to this. It’s probably because music should transcend the diversity of languages and just touch a person whether he/she is from another continent altogether.

 

22. Army of Me – Bjork

Not a lot of people I know appreciate Bjork’s style because she’s on a different classification of her own. This track proves how her style can successfully meld with electronic and create a dance soundtrack that I still use for workouts.

 

23. Bad Reputation – Joan Jett

It’s punk and it has lots of A-T-T-I-T-U-D-E!

I don’t give a damn about my bad reputation! I love it!

 

24. Cannonball – Breeders

It was MTV who introduced me to this track. They used it for an advertisement back in the day and I remember asking my classmates and some upperclassmen if they know who the artist was. Luckily, one individual was able to help. He also became a close friend since then.

 

25. Diary – Alicia Keys

Like most who personally know me, I’m not much into R&B Pop. But Alicia is an exemption to the rule. This is one track that spoke volumes of what I am.

 

26. Anything, Anything – Dramarama

One of the “desperate songs” – along with Cheap Trick’s “I Want You To Want Me” – that I absolutely adore.

 

27. Hello Goodbye – The Beatles

If memory serves me right, I was in grade school when I play this track over and over again after my father gifted me with a cassette tape of my first Beatles album. I played this track so much that the tension of the tape became so tight it almost got ruined.

 

28. I Found A Reason – Cat Power

A Velvet Underground original, Cat Power’s rendition of one of the “Flower Power” anthems was hauntingly good that it even made it into the V for Vendetta soundtrack.

 

29. I Love Music – The O’Jays

Bell bottoms and mirrorballs are just some of the things that reminded me of this song. The lyrics is also very definitive of my eclectic tastes in the auditory persuasion.

 

30. Is This Love – Bob Marley

The great Bob Marley is a staple on my fave list. He certainly makes politically and radically penned lyrics into enjoyable and relaxing immortalized songs.

 

31. Just Take My heart – Mr. Big

When Mr. Big’s first album came out, my eldest sister bought a tape and had it played numerous times that I don’t need a copy of the lyrics to sing along with. This is one of them.

 

32. Living On The Edge – Aerosmith

My angsty teenage life wouldn’t be complete without this classic track from Aerosmith.

 

33. Nessun Dorma – Puccini (performed by Andrea Boccelli & Luciano Pavarotti)

From the play “Turandot”, this masterpiece is like a rite of passage for Tenors. Once they have performed this fantastically, they get a stamp of approval. I love listening to this whenever I feel like I want to experience Autumn. Where I live, we only have hot and rainy seasons. No in-betweens.

 

34. Nothing Compares To You – Sinead O’Connor

This is a song that spoke of the first stages of a break-up. It’s also the song that made me appreciate the softer side of Sinead O’Connor, the beautiful skinhead girl who defied everyone when she was on the top, making her an original.

 

35. On Your Side – Pete Yorn

Smallville introduced me to this song and had a love relationship with it since then.

 

36. Piece of My Heart – Janis Joplin

Another classic “girl power” song, Ms. Joplin sang of what a broken love does to a woman. I hear ya, gal.

 

37. Princes of the Universe – Queen

This is a mad . . . mad song! I love Queen and I love this!

 

38. Stay – Blue Nile

I prefer this rendition than the Grace Pool cover version. It’s haunting and relaxing – one of New Wave’s finest.

 

39. The Mission Theme – Ennio Morricone

There is something about choral music married with a great orchestral background from legendary composer Ennio Morricone that made me imagine of a far away planet, majesty, power struggle and forbidden love – a great plot for a possible novel in the not so distant future.

 

40. Why Can’t This Be Love – Van Halen

Van Halen has been and will always be a staple for rock guitar enthusiast. I mean, Eddie Van Halen is mad . . . mad genius with a guitar on his hands! This track just proves how original and timeless their sound is.

 

So there you go, folks . . . another sequel to a post series that I’m actually looking forward to making. If only I have more time to do so.

There are still more to come . . . 

 

Leave a Comment

