Megalomaniac Tendencies

Tears for Fears sang it right: Everybody wants to rule the world.

Well . . . if not everybody, then most people do.

There’s always some sort of power struggle in most industries and countries. Every facet of today’s modern living can attest to that. There’s no curb or path that you wouldn’t see people wanting to own or rule somebody else’s life. It’s a fact of life.

Why am I suddenly spouting something serious when I’m known in private circles as someone who’d rather talk about food, music and books 24/7?

My un-glamorous, un-made face after a rude awakening.
My un-glamorous, un-made face after a rude awakening.

Blame it on the bloody wailing campaign songs that I have to suffer until the local elections are over. Because of my apparent irritation, I suddenly wonder . . . 

Is it really human nature to exhibit megalomaniac tendencies?

It seems that many wanted to dip their hands on the corrupt world of politics  — which I truly detest and would often change the topic whenever it comes up — because their grubby hands wanted either or all of these things:

1. Power – who doesn’t want to play God? Me, of course. Too much work to do and I’m not cut out for it.

2. Influence – just imagine getting their own way even if they’ve just violated 12 different traffic regulations just because they’re in office. Tsk . . . tsk . . .

3. Fame – even in a smaller scope (i.e. village elections), the desire of being known by everyone within the vicinity is a solid reason why politician-wannabes are campaigning like crazy, interrupting my beauty sleep with their campaign songs wailing in the early hours of the morning.

4. Money (or at least tons of free vouchers. LOL!) – this, my good folks, is very evident in corrupt governments. Even if the candidate or newly elected public servant has noble intentions, sooner or later, they will succumb to the lure of ill-gotten wealth and the people will just see the fruits of their corruption by counting the brand-spanking-new cars lined up in their newly renovated carports.) 

Don’t get me wrong, I have my own megalomaniac tendencies. I’m an alpha female anyway. But my take on it is not just for my benefit, but also for the greater good. Who doesn’t want to be on the top of the food chain. In the law of survival, you’re either the diner or the food. I prefer to be the diner. If I am the food, I’m afraid I won’t be good eats. 

If, in the event that I become food (metaphorically speaking, of course), at least I’ll contend myself with a pleasant diner who is considerate, has great plans not just for him/her self and would bring about “great” change in the way things are going on.

For now, I just wish all those sirens and annoying electoral campaign songs will stop interrupting my much needed sleep.

Leave a Comment

