Versions: Britney Spears’ Womanizer

Ooh . . . I can just hear the reeling reactions of those who know me personally and checking out this post. WTF! Britney Spears?! And Rose?!

It doesn’t make sense, right?

I know . . . I know, I’ll probably be virtually crucified by Spears’ fans by announcing to the world at large that I am far from being a fan. I actually turn green whenever my youngest sister would play Britney Spears on her cassette player back in the day (we shared a room while growing up and the saddest part is, I’m 7 years older than her. So our preferences in music weren’t exactly compromising).

Anyway, I wrote this post to generally thank Ms. Spears and her creative team for creating a record that Franz Ferdinand was able to salvage and re-create a version that totally floats my boat. I mean, I know and heard the original version a couple of times and was never that impressed, but the moment I saw the video of Franz Ferdinand doing a live rendition of this song with all their quirkiness and indie punk flavor thrown in, I became a believer. 

I now believe that any pop song can be re-made into a great indie punk/rock cover. The difference is so amazing that I almost thought it was a Franz Ferdinand original!

Hear for yourselves. The one with Britney is the director’s cut, while the one with Franz Ferdinand is a live performance for BBC One Live Lounge (Click on the images to listen/watch the video).

bs womanizer

ff womanizer

Again, in the spirit of sharing, no hostilities or hating are intended by this post. It’s just a matter of preference.

Leave a Comment

