The Curious Case of the Ghost In My Machine

My day wouldn’t – always – be complete without my formerly trusted machine acting up and giving me plenty of attitude.

As if dealing with a couple of animate lifeforms with attitude is not enough, the inanimate one wants to join in the metaphorical bandwagon and raise up the infernal banner up high with words written in bold red block letters: 

PISS-OFF ROSE TODAY!!!

Cartoon_cheerleader

It predictably makes me see  bloody murder! Screaming at the top of its lungs “Ra -ra -ra . . .” and accompanied by all those manically waving imaginary glittering pom-poms are driving me insane!

The list of transgressions are piling up, like messing with my post schedules, logging me off without warning, not responding during critical times, freezing when I need it to work to meet with deadlines. And the list goes on . . .

Yes, I’ve been known to keep calm at the face of chaos. But there are moments that I can’t just take it in and wanted to get physical. Unfortunately, venting out my frustration on the cocky machine makes me look more crazed that usual.

The fact that I will be immobilized if I relent to the strong urge to do damage and the I solely depend on the tauntingly arrogant piece of mecha for my livelihood brings me a nano second to control my shaking fists and just succumb to some foot stomping and silent hissy fit. This image might bring hilarious entertainment to some, but believe me when I say I am way furious while doing it. My palms are an interesting picture of groove marks from my nails as I clench my fists in quiet anger.

The cocky mecha also knows that it’s safe so long as I don’t have a trusty back-up to replace it with yet. But once that day arrives . . . so long sucker!

Whew! It pleasantly cathartic to vent out with words here. I feel slightly better now. I hope I will miraculously get over this soon since I can’t be angry for a long time – plays havoc with my blood pressure and will eventually give me an excruciating migraine.

Breathe in . . . breathe out . . . breathe in . . . breathe out . . .

Leave a Comment

