The TVholic Sabbatical

I admit. I am a TVholic.

Image courtesy of www.dopaminefunction.com
Image courtesy of http://www.dopaminefunction.com

Watching 34 TV shows at the same time is enough proof that I am one. I always tell those who tease me or shake their annoying heads at me that I watch too much TV during my free time (making my social life close to nonexistent) that it’s better to get hooked with TV shows/series that I can learn something from rather than get hooked on gossiping or narcotics. That’s my defense. But the real reason I do so is because I’m lazy.

I’m lazy to primp in front of the mirror before going out of my cocoon because I don’t want to get criticized by viper-tongued bullies who think they’re the fashion police or something.

I’m lazy to go out and socialize with other people who had nothing better to talk about than the latest on-dit on their favorite local Pinoy Teleserye or variety show.

I’m lazy to don my social mask and pretend that I like talking to people who can’t get my drift or have a different wavelength.

I’m lazy to entertain people with my ever-present wit and sometimes smart-ass comments because that’s what they expect me to do — all the time!

This gal gets tired, too.

So . . . what other way to get out of all that burdening obligation than to roll around my bed or lounge like a well-fed cat on my couch and get nerdgasmic over all my favorite TV shows? I can’t think of any that doesn’t require physical exertions.

From previous blog posts, I have repeatedly admitted that I am a nerd and proud to be one. But the real dilemma this nerd is facing right now is the lack of worthwhile TV fix. Most of the good stuff on TV ended last month and early this month, including my most-loved Game of Thrones Season 3 (Tyrion rocks!!!) wherein I found myself chanting: Mhysa . . . Mhysa . . . Mhysa . . . at the season finale. [Sigh] It will be another long wait for the next season and in the meantime, I’m twiddling my thumbs and searching the net for band-aid solutions to my dilemma.

Alas! There’s none to be found. 

So . . . I’m taking a sabbatical from TV — that’s the only thing I can think off other than expire from watching bad TV.

I hope it won’t be long, just enough to get me to do other stuff that will yield generally favorable results personally. I’ve been neglectful in terms of indulging on other hobbies and interests and I think this is the right time to immerse myself in them again. Between work, sidelines, music and other hobbies, I hope I’ll survive the semi-flatlined status of my TV life . . . for now.

Maybe I’ll get crazy by next month from the lack of viewing candy and eventually succumb to something terribly horrendous and definitely not me . . . watch Pinoy teleseryes. Heaven forbid! [shiver]

Leave a Comment

