Versions: Gotye’s Somebody That I Used To Know

I haven’t done one of these for quite sometime. But I come to redeem my inattention with something that is slightly current and fresh.

I am certain that there are tons of people who are fans of the multi-platinum single Somebody That I Used To Know by Gotye. It made him a commodity especially when it was covered by several contestants in various TV singing competitions, renewing its already climbing popularity. But despite this song going mainstream, the indie element that I grew to love and appreciate always shines through whenever this record is played. That is the sole reason why I still tolerate hearing this song after getting several off-key performances in several noontime TV shows in local networks here in my country.

Whew!

Then . . . the “like factor” was renewed when I heard the amazingly brilliant rendition by Walk Off The Earth, a Canadian indie band from Ontario. The video is badass, too!  I believe their version is better than the original, but that’s just my opinion. I still want you guys to check it out for yourselves and let me know if the two versions do not go neck-to-neck in the “like” department. And in the name of equality, both versions were performed live.

To have a listen, just click on the images below.

gotye-orig

 

Gotye cover - walk off the earth

And just like my previous posts in this segment . . . I want to impart that it’s just a matter of preference. Haters need not apply.

Leave a Comment

