Can’t Fight The Feeling (TV Sabbatical Cut Short)

Dean Winchester singing Can't Fight This Feeling while drivingBorrowing the lyrics from a cult favorite song of hopeless lovelorn fanatics by the 80’s band REO Speedwagon, I quote (while imagining Dean Winchester – played by Jensen Ackles in the cult TV series Supernatural – driving the Chevrolet Impala and singing this song):

“And I can’t fight this feeling anymore.
I’ve forgotten what I started fighting for.
It’s time to bring this ship into the shore,
And throw away the oars, forever.”

the minions in Despicable Me 2As corny as that might sound, that’s the song running inside my head as I’m writing this post (and watching Despicable Me for the nth time before I go out and watch Despicable Me 2 – amazing multi-tasking skills, I know. Lol!). Maybe because of the sentiment behind it and what I’ve been going through right now. 

I remember coming out and admitting that I am a TVholic (see my previous post The TVholic Sabbatical) and I thought I’m going to last for the whole season. I shouldn’t have dared myself. Fighting the urge to seek out new TV series is like pretending I’m someone else.

So . . . here I go again, plowing through various titles both old and new and trying to build my TV viewing list. So far, there are ten titles on my schedule block and I’ve been feeling better because of it. 

SEGUE: If you’ve been single as long as I have, you’ll develop an acute taste for the mundane, including slumming on your couch and watching one episode after another of the series you’ve picked to while away your dreary and lazy days or nights.

Anyway, going back . . .

There are several shows that started this slow TV season that caught my attention. To see the trailers, click on the images.

First off is ABC’s Twisted, starring Avan Jogia as the mysterious teen Danny Desai and a whole slew of supporting characters including Denise Richards (of Wild Things fame with Neve Campbell, Kevin Bacon and Matt Dillon)

I saw the pilot episode months before it debuted on ABC. It’s mysterious, but not as heavy as the typical crime dramas I’m used to watching. On top of that, the main character invokes a little bit of a cradle-snatcher tendency in me. (For a thirty-something gal, crushing on a 21-year-old is not something to be proud of – I don’t even know why I bother writing it here now. Tsk . . . tsk  . . .).

Anyway, so my sabbatical seems to be short-lived even if I consider Summer TV as a slow season.  I’ve got the following on my TBW (To Be Watched) list:

NOTE: To know what they are, click on the title to get routed to some information about the shows.

1. Falling Skies Season 3Falling Skies Season 3 promo poster

2. Teen Wolf Season 3

3. Under The Dome Season 1

4. Rizzoli & Isles Season 4

5. Twisted Season 1

6. Rookie Blue Season 4

7.  Perception Season 2

8. True Blood Season 6

9. Graceland Season 1

10. Covert Affairs Season 4

So, there. I thought I would be able to hold it for long, but I guess I overestimated the power of my visual and intellectual hunger.

Although I think it’s relatively few compared to the fall season line up I have, it will still provide some entertainment while I wait for September and once again assume my couch potato pose.

Leave a Comment

