Versions: Skinny Love by Bon Iver

It’s been two years or so ago that I started scouring the net and found myself cruising through a lot of indie folk music. Artists like Ben Howard, Bon Iver and Ed Sheeran are amongst my top picks. And speaking of top picks, Skinny Love by Bon Iver is right there alongside Ben Howard’s Only Love. There’s just too much heart in indie folk songs that grabs me and moves me.

I love this song. It’s one of the songs I have on loop in my player whenever I’m trying to get inspiration for writing. And it’s just not me that appreciates this song. There are tons of covers done by both amateur and professional artists all over YouTube. It just goes to show that it’s a wonderful song.

So, for this latest post for the Versions segment, I bring you the original version of Bon Iver‘s Skinny Love and a cover by my other favorite – Ed Sheeran. I know that there are like a gazillion views for Birdy’s version in YouTube, but I much rather like a guy singing this song. It felt more heartfelt, I guess.

To listen to the songs, just click on the images.

Bon Iver singing Skinny Love live

Ed Sheeran singing a cover of Bon Iver's Skinny Love

Both versions are good. I think it’s just a matter of preference which works best for you.

Leave a Comment

