Versions: The Psychedelic Furs’ Heaven

Going back to my love for New Wave was like a trip down memory lane. I was magically initiated to the sounds of The Psychedelic Furs even before I knew how to spell the band’s name correctly. And if I remember correctly, that was around 1988 or 1989. I was too young to know how great an impact the songs that I’ve been listening to in my preference in music now. Suffice to say, my early indoctrination to the world of music was tasteful and classic.

After all these years, Heaven still manages to jump-start my heart into a sigh-ful puff of mush. The lyrics are like poetry and the way it was delivered was new wave at its finest.

Therefore, I was pumped up to see if there are artist who made cover versions of this amazing song and scouring the tube was a revelation. I wasn’t even aware that Annie Lennox (another favorite) released a cover of Heaven as well as Alkaline Trio!

So, without further ado, here are links to the original version of Heaven by The Psychedelic Furs and the cover versions done by Annie Lennox and Alkaline Trio, the latter is a live version though.

Click on the image to watch/listen to the tracks.

the psychedelic furs heaven

alkaline trio heaven

annie lennox heaven

So there . . . another episode of the Versions segment. And like all the others before this, all versions have their own flair. It’s just a matter of preference. Haters need not apply.

P.S. The image I used of Annie Lennox is from her video “Little Bird.”

Leave a Comment

