Versions: Paramore’s Ain’t It Fun

Paramore is one of those pop/rock bands that had amassed a massive following even before they got major exposure through the first where their song Decode is included. It was rare to have a girl-fronted modern pop/rock/alternative band to get major mainstream success.

I don’t know if it’s a misogynistic mindset among music consumers that any pop/rock/alternative band fronted by a woman is lame. Hello!!! The 90’s band scene spawned such amazing female vocalists like Shirley Manson of Garbage and Kim Gordon of Sonic Youth to name a few. And what about Joan Jett and Janis Joplin? (I could go on and on with this — believe me. Lol!)

Anyway, I always thought that Hayley Williams is one interesting artist; She can actually go solo and be successful. But together with the rest of the band, she’s phenomenal. She seems much brighter when she performs with the rest of the guys. Yeah, she’s a star — without a doubt.

My love affair with Paramore started long before “Decode”. When I caught the video for “Misery Business” for the first time, I was entranced. But the love affair went on hiatus as they released records that seem a bit generic. Not until I heard one of their latest – Ain’t It Fun. As resuscitated passion goes, this single made my heart go tokidoki once again.

Of course, when a single by popular artists/bands goes up to the charts, it comes along with cover versions. So, I scoured the net for interesting versions of this song and I found none so far. However, I did find a live version of the song they performed in Rock am Ring (Germany) last 6th of July, 2013

 

Note: Just click on the images to listen/watch the different versions. Have fun!

 

Paramore Ain't It Fun
Image courtesy of http://www.spin1038.com

 

Paramore at Rock am Ring 2013
Image courtesy of http://paramore_pt.blogs.sapo.pt

 

So, there you go . . . another nice, up-tempo track that screams, “Enough of the mushy stuff. It’s time to party!!!”

I’m still on the look-out for a good cover version and might update this post (or write a sequel) once I do. Either way, this record might not be as great as Misery Business of Crush . . . Crush . . . Crush, but it definitely leaves an impression.

And as a parting note . . . I’m once again compelled to write that it’s a matter of preference whether the album version or the live acoustic is good.

I wonder if Ben Howard or Bon Iver will pick this track to make a solemn version like they always do. That’s something to look forward to.

 

Leave a Comment

