MY PLAYLIST: Top 10 Tracks for August 2013

August is what I call the start of the wet months.

For some, they consider that to be June or July. But, for me, the expected downpour is a lot more steadier during August.

And when it is raining almost all the time, it get me lazier; I want to stay on my bed and marinate the whole day. I can’t seem to keep my eyes open throughout the day. I always find myself choking back a yawn even in the middle of a phone conversation with a friend, who is sharing something that usually perks me up.

Anyway, I tend to listen to really jumpy songs whenever I’m in this kind of slump. It’s all reflected on 80% of the songs listed below. They somehow helped me keep my eyes open and forego searching for a quiet corner to doze off and play dead in the middle of the day.

Note: Please click on the song title to listen/watch the songs. Enjoy!

1. The Heavy – How You Like Me Now

It’s been two years since I first heard this song. Somehow, the years didn’t mean sh*t when a song has so much attitude that I just want to fling back the bedcovers and strut naked in my room before starting the day. Very liberating, if I may say. 

2. The Psychedelic Furs – Heaven

Like another blogger made me realize, I’m a millenial or a generation straddler (see my post Generation Straddler to know what I mean). It is why I was able to partake in a great era of new wave genre that up till now I gladly appreciate.

The Psychedelic Furs is one of those bands that will always be timeless — in my opinion — for me. I even featured it in one of my Versions post.

And their song “Heaven” is one of those that makes me thankful that was able to live part of my life during the new wave era.

3. Sarah McLachlan – Train Wreck

I know it’s lame for some hard rockers to know a fellow rocker is enamored of the lovely Sarah McLachlan. First and foremost, I’m a girl and therefore have a tendency to listen to some less gritty and slam-and-wail type of rock music. I sometimes like to prop my feet up, sip an indescribable alcoholic concoction (that usually turns out good and lethal), and listen to some mellow alternative songs like “Train Wreck.”

**I would like to take this opportunity to thank my youngest sister for gifting me with a CD for my birthday eons ago — after several puppy dog looks and sob-story-manipulations.**

4. Altas Genius – Trojans

I first heard this song a few months ago. Then, when I heard it for the first time playing in a local radio show a month ago, I was inwardly whooping with joy. 

It’s not just their name; This band is truly genius. I mean, I loved them from the beginning and I still love them now and for always. Trojans would definitely become a part of my all-time favorites soon.

5. The Neighborhoods – The Sweater Song

A quite appropriate song for a rainy day. Where I’m at, heavy rains usually usher in a slightly chilly weather and calls for a lightweight sweater when going outside.

6. The 1975 – Chocolate

I am so in love with this song.

Although I cannot understand a single word when I first heard this song, my hypothetical disoriented hearing didn’t deter my loving this song as first note.

Then, when I really listened to it found out the lyrics was as nonsensical as I am sometimes prone to be, it still remained the most played song in my audio console.

So, it makes me question myself: Did I like this song because of the title? Or is it because it’s such a delightful song? Hmm . . .

7. Ray LaMontagne – I Still Care For You

When I heard this song from Ray LaMontagne some two years or so, I feel in love with the breathy quality and the transcendental sentiment behind the lyrics. I may not be good in waxing poetry when it comes to emotions, but I can definitely see the heartfelt feelings thrown in the creation of this calming song.

8. Paramore – Ain’t It Fun

It’s no secret that I have a long standing love affair with Paramore. It started way before their song “Decode” became a part of the first Twilight movie soundtrack. It’s partly because of their honest rockin’ beats. But, the affair took a sabbatical and was just recently resuscitation — thanks to Ain’t It Fun.

9. Mylo – Drop The Pressure

A touch electronic, a bit quirky . . . the perfect track to wake me up in a grey afternoon.

10.  Fitz and The Tantrums – Out of My League

Amazing track from Fitz and The Tantrumsan indie band, I wouldn’t have stumbled upon if not for a local morning radio show I listen to almost regularly.

The track is sounds so much like an 80’s new wave song — so cute!!! [No wonder it captured my attention. 🙂 ]

So, there you go! My most played tracks in August. Hope someone out there appreciates my list. Muchos gracias!

Leave a Comment

