MY PLAYLIST: Top 10 Tracks for September 2013

September was the start of the “ber” months as what we call it here in the Philippines. It ushers in the colder temperatures, more typhoons and of course the most awaited holiday for most people (not me though) — Christmas. By the time this post is published, it’s exactly 85 days before Christmas. 

Along with the festive aura surrounding me comes feel good songs that unconsciously became the most played tracks on my music console — well, at least 80% of my top ten list.

Let’s head along to the countdown.

Reminder: The music listed is not connected in any famous countdown charts. They also do not follow a regulated genre or era. It’s as (how shall I put it?) my own list of favorites for the month of September.

1. Stars – Reunion

I’ve always like Stars. The moment I started listening to them back in 2011, I’ve always adored the way they create music. Among my favorites are Dead Hearts, Calendar Girl and Your Ex-Lover is Dead. But recently, I’ve developed a crush on Reunion. It’s the melody and arrangement that brings flowers to my eyes.

2.  The 1975 – You

My love with this band started with Chocolate, and it’s a great way to be inducted to the whole The 1975 experience. Now, the love trickled down to You. I guess my love will go on (Oh, my. Now I sound cheesy. Lol!) as long as they create more and more lovable tunes like Chocolate and You.

3.  Foo Fighters – Everlong

If I’m going to list the greatest 90’s alternative rock bands, Foo Fighters would be on my top ten list (maybe I’ll post that soon) along with Pearl Jam and Nirvana. Everlong has a depth to it that made me want to have it sung on my wedding. 

4.  Foals – Olympic Airways

What I like about this song is its jumpy rhythm that is the perfect song to wake up and get you to move. This track helped me move my ass in an otherwise lazy morning . . . especially on a Monday.

5. Delays – Unsung

This track from Delays might not be as popular as Hey Girl or Hideaway, but it still sounds adorable and one of my favorites.

6. Hockey – Learn To Lose

The song is upbeat and still has a freshness to it that even after several years of listening, it still manages to make me feel good.

7. Alkaline Trio – Time To Waste

It’s been seven years since I bought the CD (still is with me) and there’s never been a day that I don’t consider Alkaline Trio as a great band. Time To Waste was the first song I heard from them and will forever be a favorite.

8. Ed Sheeran – Lego House

There are only a few Indie Folk artists who’d made it into the mainstream and still maintained their individuality like Ed Sheeran. Lego House is one of his latest and to be frank, if I haven’t seen the video starring Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley of Harry Potter fame), I wouldn’t have liked it as much.

9. Apparatjik – Snow Crystals

This is the one and only song from Apparatjik that I fell in love with. The arrangement is unique and had been one of my go-to songs while taking a shower. It brings a sense of peace and outdoors while I’m covered with suds that is so weird, yet nice.

10.  Tokyo Police Club – Cut Cut Paste

One of my favorite Indie bands, Tokyo Police Club has a punk vibe that made me pay attention years ago and that attention is still evident whenever they have a new track out. This song is there on top with Tesselate and Nature of the Experiment.

So . . . there you go. Those are 10 of the most played tracks in my audio console for the month of September.

Until next time!

Leave a Comment

