Solitary Confinement

Solitude
Solitude (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

There are some people who cannot just comprehend or wrap their minds around the idea that there are others who enjoy being alone not because they have nowhere to go or lack friends for company. There are just those who prefer a solitary existence.

Is being alone bad?

If I’m going to ask that very question to select members of my family, there would be a resounding answer of “YES.” I beg to differ though. 

Since I was a kid, I’ve always been an introvert — this is something so ridiculous to even contemplate by those who’ve only known me in the latter years. They would scoff it off as a lie when I’m completely being honest when I tell them there’s nary a naughty bone in my body during my formative years. Living with both disciplinarian/autocratic parents and going to private Catholic schools did me in. I always take home the “Most Silent” and “Best In GMRC (Good Morals and Right Conduct) ribbons at the end of the school year. That was the scenario until I moved on to college. 

Even if I still went to a women’s university run by nuns, there was a feeling of being free. The distance from the school to my house might be a factor. Also the fact that none of my high school batch mates (most of whom I’ve been classmates since kindergarten) didn’t enroll to the university I did — thank God. Long story short, I blossomed. I developed a vivacious personality that even ’til now people know me for.

However, there are still times when I’d rather be left alone. Being in the spotlight (so to speak) can take its toll on an otherwise quiet person.

I enjoy quiet moments with a good book on one hand and a bag of chips on close proximity. I enjoy watching TV alone, a reprieve from someone who will say something in the middle of a great scene and  dispelling whatever magic it has. I enjoy facing a pristine canvas with a brush on my hand and the smell of paint permeating the room. I enjoy surfing the web and finding out what new things are out there.

So, whenever someone gives me a horrified look after telling them that I’d prefer to stay home alone, it makes me defensive and wanna go Breaking Bad.

To each his own, people. Not everyone enjoys being surrounded by screaming hyenas or getting your eardrums cracked by throbbing house music; not everyone enjoys being the unpaid entertainer of the group; not everyone enjoys having their favorite dress smell like an ashtray after a night out.

Solitary existence [confinement] isn’t all that bad. Need to rest those senses once in a while.

P.S. Wow! This is actually my 100th post! Time to celebrate with a nice glass of the bubblies. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Solitary Confinement”

  1. “Is being alone bad?

    If I’m going to ask that very question to select members of my family, there would be a resounding answer of “YES.” I beg to differ though.”

    I can totally relate to this blog Ma’am. =) There are just not enough people who could understand that introverts actually find strength and refreshment in solitude…or at least, being alone once in a while. Reading your blog made me smile and once more recall how my personality is very much like yours. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!! =)

Leave a Comment

