MY PLAYLIST: Top 10 Tracks for December 2013

It’s the last day of the year and I am surrounded by fireworks and merry-making ruckus as I try to publish this on time before shouting “Goodbye 2013! Hello 2014!” (with a silent, heartfelt plea that 2014 be good to me).

December 2013 Playlist

2013 had been a good year, which surprisingly didn’t start with a positive note. The first quarter of the year put me in a sort of limbo-ish existence. It’s probably my lack of inspiration or maybe I’m still grieving from my dad’s death. 

Anyway, 2013 proved to be great  for my musical consciousness. One marvelous addition to my auditory fancies was getting a copy of The 1975‘s self-titled debut album (see my review HERE). If there’s such a thing as a music ho’, I might be it. 2013 brought this blog into a musical direction as I busied myself by being a radio DJ for a local radio station and get to retrospect a lot of the music that shaped my musical tastes.  

So, enough of my rambling and let’s get on to the most-played songs in my audio console this month. Don’t be surprised if you see a lot of songs that come from just one band.

Reminder: Once again — boys and girls — this list doesn’t follow any particular genre, internationally-acclaimed top charts, era, et al. This is my own top playlist for December 2013. Enjoy!

1.Two Door Cinema Club – Changing of the Seasons

I heard this song from one of my favorite Irish lads a month ago, but just warmed to it this month. It’s from their Changing of the Seasons EP released just this year, a sample of their 3rd full-length studio album slated to be released in 2015.

It has a nice anthem-ish feel to it that is just in time for the equinox. It still manages to bring Two Door Cinema Club‘s signature sound in a whole new track that will surely see a reappearance in future playlists.

2. Minus The Bear – Pachuca Sunrise

It’s been . . . what? Four . . . five years since I first heard this song? Just by listening to it, no one would know this song is 8 years old (released in the album Menos el Oso back in 2005) because it’s so damn good. Only the best from this Seattle-based band. Enough said.

**P.S. Wanna know the story behind the band’s name? Click HERE.**

3. Kate Tucker & the Sons of Sweden – Looking Around

I heard this early this month from another local radio station I listen to.

The moment I heard them, I knew they sound familiar. Then lo and behold! They are. I heard them from watching TV shows like the gymnastics-themed Make It or Break It and the angst-laden teen drama One Tree Hill. Annnndddd . . . they have an uncanny similar style with The Lumineers and Metric since they have the same producers from those bands I love as well.

Suffice to say, I liked Looking Around (found in the 2013 exclusive sampler: The Shape, The Color, The Feel) from the get-go because it’s fresh and it’s the first song I heard from them that doesn’t involve any TV show. It grew on me. Then before I knew it, I’ve been listening to it around 4 to 5 times a day! I’m addicted!

4. F.R. David – Sahara Night

Talk about a blast from the past! I heard this from a passing jeepney with speakers blaring and made me remember how I love this 80’s song when I was young. The moment I came home, I searched my files and luckily, I found an mp3 copy tucked in my secret music folder together with Maria Vidal’s Body Rock and Magic Fire’s Body Dancer. I guess the secret’s out now! LOL!

5. The 1975 – Talk!

Oh yes! I’ve raved about this band and this song enough in one of my previous posts — The 1975’s Self-Titled Debut Album: A Review. Their album is simply worth every penny I paid for it.

6. Tango With Lions – In A Bar

It’s a great track to wind the hectic day down. The piano and the vocals just made my mind drift away. It’s cathartic.

7. Moloko – Fun For Me

This had become my Saturday anthem. Apart from my other favorite from MolokoSing It Back — the quirkiness of the beats, rhythm and the jazzy vocals had me grooving to this song for years, but I don’t know why it’s resurgence in my music radar this time of the year made me like it more. Maybe it’s because of the crazy weather. Who knows?

8. Modjo – Lady (Hear Me Tonight)

This is the pair to Moloko’s track above. My Saturdays this month had become a sprightly affair. It’s a bit retrospective too since I loved this song when it first came out back in 2000, during my last year in college. Then, I remember having this song playing inside my head at the end credits of Y Tu Mamá También, the Mexican film that made me so hung-up with that famous threesome scene. 

9. Robin Thicke – Feel Good

This song is a sexy, dance-able record that made me burn a lot of calories doing my HIIT exercises.

10. The 1975 – Heart Out

Yes, it’s another The 1975 track. What can I say? I’m totally in love with the band and their album.

There you go . . . the top 10 tracks on my playlist this December.

 

Happy New Year Hat by David Castillo Dominici
Happy New Year Hat
“Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net”

Leave a Comment

